Four acres and no horse

That is the name of Anna Kaenzig’s debut album and it was past midnight last night when I went along to the Kulm to hear her singing exerts from it.

I almost didn’t go. The Miles Davis Lounge was thick with cigar smoke and filled with its usual wonderful crowd of late-night jazz addicts who somehow always make me feel I am watching a cast from a Fellini movie. I managed to wedge myself into a corner and was immediately drawn right into her raw, youthful, at times gritty and always soulful voice and style.

She really has something – fans have been hailing her as the new Norah Jones blended with some Diana Krall and although I could see hints of Norah she was most definitely her own person with a style that is quite unique.

I hardly noticed the hour going by and felt disappointed when she grabbed her guitar announcing this was her last song for the evening – this young Zurich singer is definitely one to keep an eye out for.

Leave a Reply

