Patterns in the snow

IMG_1290

There is something so intricate and beautiful about the patterns we make in the snow – neat geometric shapes that could pass for art! As I flew over Switzerland I couldn’t resist this shot and then had to compare it with the patterns the White Turf and the cricket pitch have created on the frozen lake here in St Moritz…

IMG_1332

The way the tight-knit towns and villages cluster at ground level look like contemporary jewellery shapes from 3000 metres in the sky…

photo 1

Try as I may, I can’t pick out a single point I recognise when so far above – it is like looking at an entirely new territory – so familiar from down below, so foreign from above…. On the day I took this they were playing the only cricket ever played in the world on a frozen lake…. let me know if you can spot it!!

IMG_1288

Leave a Reply

