Healing Properties

IMG_1995

There is no doubt that the plants that grow up here are some of the hardiest on the planet – they simply have to be to survive. As a consequence many of them have healing properties that they have shared with us for centuries. I talked about the beautiful, pale silver Edelweiss that I watched being harvested in August and on a walk in late Autumn I came across a last arnica flower, still bold and bright, even though it looked a tad weather beaten!

IMG_2107

Arnica has so many healing properties it is hard to imagine when you wouldn’t use it! It is great for tissue damage, bruising, muscular aches and inflammation. I didn’t pick that last flower I saw standing alone in the pine forest – by now it will be lying under a coat of snow no doubt, but I have been using the arnica gel to soothe my aching legs after a particularly hard trek and I can tell you it is a small miracle of a plant!

Leave a Reply

